Urban Vogue Weddings » Blog

Mother’s Day

Celebrate the Mother of the Bride this Mothers Day with some of these fabulous ideas!  Calgary is filled with amazing places to celebrate any special event through out the year.  Sunday,  May 12th is Mothers Day and we thought we could share some inspiration and ideas for this special day!

For the past five years or so, our family has celebrated Mother’s Day at the same venue.  Slowly but surely, the service and quality has been falling and we have decided that the time has come to find a new way to show our appreciation and celebrate!  Calgary is filled with fabulous things to do, for every type of family, so this year, why not try something fresh?

The Bountiful Brunch

Probably the most popular idea for Mother’s Day, there are endless venues hosting fabulous Brunch’s.  The best part about a brunch buffet is the choices.  We usually have a large group with all the mothers in our family, and the standard buffet provides something for everyone.  Complimentary mimosas and coffee and are always a nice perk, but make sure to book far in advance!

For a family affair, Heritage Park – http://heritagepark.ca/special-events/mothersDayBrunch.php

For the trendy mom, The Vin Room – http://www.vinroom.com/events

For an elegant event, Kensington Riverside Inn- http://www.kensingtonriversideinn.com/upcoming-events.html

For a wild time, The Calgary Zoo – http://www.calgaryzoo.org/content/view/56/90/

The Soothing Spa

Who wouldn’t want a day of rest and relaxation, and who more deserving than mom?  Massages, facials, and pedicures are always a hit and spending the day with your mother at a local spa can be a wonderful way to re-connect and take some time for yourselves.

Mother-Daughter Retreat, Riverside Spa – http://www.riversidespa.ca/online-gift-certificates/seasonal-special/

Mom Mani/Pedi, Pure Creations –  http://purecreations.ca/spa/

 Rejuvenating Rituals, The Spa Ritual – http://www.thesparitual.com/packages/group_rituals.php

Energetic Events

Mother’s Day is not only be a day to show our love and respect for our own mothers, but can be a day to give back and support local charities.  If you and your mom are feeling upto the challenge, gravb your running shoes and head out for the Mother’s Day Run and Walk  – http://www.mdrunandwalk.com/calgary-event-information.html

Home is Where the Heart is

When all you want is some quality time with the one’s you love, an afternoon/night in may just be what the doctor ordered!  The weather is going to fabulous and a backyard BBQ can offer the comfort foods the whole family can enjoy, while staying on budget, and having some great quality time.  Some of our favourite BBQ ideas are:

Ribs and Brownies – http://www.sheknows.com/holidays-and-seasons/articles/808516/host-a-mother-s-day-barbecue-recipes-entertaining-ideas-a-checklist-and-more

Kabobs – http://www.sheknows.com/holidays-and-seasons/articles/808516/host-a-mother-s-day-barbecue-recipes-entertaining-ideas-a-checklist-and-more

Garlic Shrimp Skewers – http://alotaboutnothing.com/2007/08/recipe-lemon-garlic-butter-shrimp-skewers

**Family favourite, Bacon Wrapped Asparagus – http://www.tablespoon.com/recipes/bacon-wrapped-grilled-asparagus-recipe/1/

 

 

Happy Mother’s Day!

Heather

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*